Fall Wardrobe Prep: The Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 17  Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 9

As I gear up for my fall wardrobe capsule (well, let’s be honest…early fall has already snuck up on me here in Michigan!), I’ve been contemplating what I wear the most in the colder months. Looking at my closet from last year, my longer tunics, hoodies, and dresses got the most wear…paired with leggings or sweater tights. When I saw the unique cowl on the Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic (also a top), I had to give it a try.

You can probably guess that the result was sweet adoration. I lined my cowl with an olive green, added olive drawstrings for another unexpected pop of color, paired with striped mustard cotton spandex from Raspberry Creek Fabric and solid mustard pocket and leggings.

I added accent binding to my pocket, and I also used eyelets for my cowl. I’ll share the steps here in case you want a similar look.

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 20

Creating Pocket Binding Pieces

I used 1.75” width and cut my length just longer than the side slant on the pocket. It’s easy to trim the excess after sewing. Shown below is one side sewn and the other side prepped. You’ll lay the binding face-down (right sides together) on your pocket piece, matching raw edges.

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 2

You’ll then sew on the binding; I sew 3/8” from the raw edge. I use a triple stitch (3 dashed lines) to allow for stretch on the stretch knits. If you have another stretch stitch (looks like a lightening bolt), you can use that. A zigzag stitch also works on knits.

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 2

You’ll then want to tuck the fabric over to the wrong side of the pocket, covering the seam allowance.

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 3

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 4

Then, stitch the binding in place. I stitched about 1/8” from where the binding is attached to the pocket. This catches the backside of the binding as well.

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 5  Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 6

And voilà! You now have binding on your pocket and will continue the instructions as written with the pattern.

Adding Eyelets to Your Cowl

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 19  Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 7

The other modification I made was using eyelets instead of buttonholes on my cowl. I love the finished look of eyelets, and they’re incredibly easy. I won’t include step-by-step instructions here, but this is the tool I use and really like:

Seamingly Smitten Cowl Tunic 8

I picked mine up at Jo-Ann’s, and the easy-to-use instructions are on the back of the package.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have some serious love for my my new fall capsule addition! You can grab your own cowl pattern HERE, and you can receive 40% off now through Tuesday 9/5 with code SAVE40. Be sure to use hashtag #sscowlhoodie when you share your creations; I’d love to see them!

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑