Fall is for Fluted Sleeves: A Hi-Low Fashion Top

Fall is for a lot of things…cozying up with family, picking 🎃s, drinking lattes…and I’d have to argue that this fall is also for fluted sleeves and all things hi-low 😍
Seamingly Smitten Off the Shoulder Lanter Sleeve Top 7

 

The Seamingly Smitten Women’s Off-The-Shoulder Top with hi-low hem is that garment I want to pull out of my closet every day of fall. It has sweet sophistication, and I’ll share with you one more way to add charm to this top: adding a curved front as well as the curved back (already included in the pattern). This accentuates the hi-low seam and can help seamstresses achieve a modern look while still getting that covered-bum hi-low detail.

 

 

 

My Stats

To start off, it’s important to know my measurements so that you can make changes that are proper for your height. I’m 5’7.5” and measure at the XS. To cover my bum, I use the “tallest” cutting line at the back and both “tallest” and “regular” length for the front. For a longer tunic length in future versions, I might extend 3” at the back and use the tallest cutting line for the front so I can wear with leggings.

Adjusting the Front Piece Pattern

The adjustment to the front pattern piece is super simple. We will use the same curve as the back piece but flip it upside down. Start at the “tall” line and curve up to the “regular” line as shown here:

Front Pattern Piece 2 Seamingly

Don’t you love that tape? My girls are my helpers 🤣👏 The end result, when sewn, will look like this:

Front Piece 1 Seamingly Smitten

The front bodice is no longer straight across; it’s slightly curved.

Seamingly Smitten Off the Shoulder Lanter Sleeve Top 5  Seamingly Smitten Off the Shoulder Lanter Sleeve Top 6

Other Adjustments

The pattern is well-drafted and straightforward. The only other change I made was that I used 1/4” elastic in my neck/shoulder casing. This is the standard size I use for my off-the-shoulder tops, so I knew it’d work for me. You can try various sizes to see which is your favorite.

And just like that…we’re ready for all of those back-to-school errands and activities! Add a high-waisted black skirt, and I’m ready for date night!

Be sure to use the hashtag #ssflutedsleeve when you sew your new tops/tunics; I’d love to see what you create! And if you don’t yet have the pattern, it’s 40% off for 48 hours with code SALE40. You can grab your copy here.

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑