Summer Dawn: Striped Swallow Designs’ Wrap Dress

Final Summer Dawn 8

There’s something simply feminine about wrap dresses. Maybe I think of kimonos or silky nighttime gowns–but I adore them. Oddly, though, I haven’t worn many wrap dresses for fear that they would come untied or be pulled by one of my toddlers. Thankfully, an unwrap-proof (until the right time…wink wink) dress has arrived in my closet: the Summer Dawn.

The new Summer Dawn by Striped Swallow Designs includes breathtaking features like modern flowy sleeves and a beautiful crossover bodice cut. It also includes my favorite–an optional lace skirt for a formal touch.

And the best part is, it’s a pretty simple sew!

 

For my Summer Dawn version, I chose my current favorite colorway of Moonstruck single brushed poly from Sly Fox Fabrics. There’s a vintage minty color within the floral that captivates me, and the single brushed poly is brushed on the outside and silky on the inside. It’s so sweetly elegant.

Final Summer Dawn 12

I paired it with this Abstract Lace for the Blog Post version of the dress that Mandalynn offered for the pattern. The added lace is one of my favorite features.

Summer Dawn Dress 3

The Fit

I sewed the size XS, which is where I measured. I did not have to modify the pattern; the fit was right on across the chest, bust, within the armscye, across the hip.

Tips/Tricks

The instructions were very straightforward for this pattern; so really, the only tip I have is to definitely use interfacing when adding your buttonhole. Just cut a small square, and it makes all the difference. To test this, I tried making a buttonhole on a scrap of brushed poly, and it didn’t take. Then I tried creating a buttonhole on plain interfacing, and it was beautiful. I knew, then, that I must use my interfacing.

Options

The Summer Dawn comes in the Blog Post version shown (dress length with added lace skirt), and it also comes in regular dress length and maxi length. There are also options for short sleeves (shown) or slightly longer (around elbow length).

Enjoy all of the Summer Dawn options, and be sure to share your creations in the Striped Swallow Designs FB group!

Final Summer Dawn 9

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑