Tulip Dress = Two-Lip Approval from My Hubs (get it?!!)

DSC_0065

It’s here–and it’s a stunner!! TULIP DRESS

My hubs was watching our kids at the park when I finished my dress. I quickly got ready, drove down, got out of the car, and I saw my husband’s jaw drop a bit!–he literally ran over (wait husband–don’t leave the kids!! lol).

Although the ultimate approval we’re looking for is out own, this new pattern is nothing short of a show stopper with many upscale-to-casual possibilities.

So let’s review it…

 

DSC_0064

Features

This pattern can be sewn with different sleeve lengths and also comes in dress or tunic lengths.

The biggest feature is the “tulip” front hem, with one side gathered up toward the thigh. The under-layer can be made with the same fabric or solid peeking out; the possibilities are endless (a ruffle would be super cute!).
I chose to sew my dress on the bias and the under-layer across the stretch.

I love how it turned out. Here is a view from the side, with the back bodice also across the stretch:

DSC_0067

During testing, I thought every size/shape looked absolutely incredible in this pattern. I’m in the smallest flat-but category, and look how it shows curves on my hips and butt –now you know why it got the hub’s smooch approval 😉

This gorgeous fabric was a perfect weight and drape for this pattern. It’s a custom bamboo spandex from Just That Nifty Sewing Company, a semi-new custom shop that has blown me away with modern designs for adults (many custom shops target kids, so I run to this one for ME). This print is called “Static Noise” and is on pre-order sale.

 

DSC_0063

So run…don’t walk…

Or, who am I kidding?–you can stroll leisurely if you’re in heels…just don’t forget 😉

The pattern is on sale for release ($3.85!!) AND the rest of the website is 25% off for July AND an extra 15% off with code HOT15. So yes–pretty amazing deals over at Ellie and Mac!DSC_0057

 

 

 

 

DSC_0056

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑