Portlanders Pants Girls’ Release + Mommy/Me Bundle

Girl Potlander Pants Mama Daughter 2

Just days after I made my Portlander Pants (find my post HERE), New Horizons announced that the girls’ version was coming (Pattern website HERE)! My daughter had just had a meltdown because I hadn’t sewn a matching outfit for us in a while, so voilà–it had to come to fruition!

The Portlander Pants is a year-round pant that is fitted at the top (with yoga style waistband) and flawy toward the ankle. This style is incredibly comfortable and works for both day-wear and feels heavenly for pajamas. My daughter insisted that she needed to wear her new outfit during the day with me and then to bed (I obliged! I mean…comfort).

I used the same monochrome fabric from Love Adore Knits that I used for my pants, and the top is black double brushed poly from Pretty Posh Prints.

I then needed to try the shorts version of the pants (also included in the pattern). I opted for pockets, yoga waistband, and a faux drawstring instead of a full drawstring; I simply sewed my drawstring together, tied it into a bow, and tacked it on. For the polka dot version shown below, I didn’t even sew the drawstring; instead, I just used the fabric selvage that naturally rolls.

Portlander Shorts Girls 2

My polka dot knit is part of Raspberry Creek Fabric‘s CLUB line. I paired with a store-bought tank and a long, vintage necklace for a sweet Euro-style look.

Portlander Shorts Girls 3

My final version used the same method (shorts, pockets, faux drawstring), and I used a patterned pocket and drawstring for a fun, modern look.

As you sew up your girls’ and women’s Portlanders this summer, be sure to share your creations on the New Horizons Facebook page.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

