New Horizons Portlander Pants and Shorts: Monochrome Fashion Classics

Portlander Shorts and Daphne Top 6  Portlander Pants and Daphne Top 4

I tend to sew florals or bright colors. I love pink. But this year I’ve been drawn to blues and neutrals like no other and decided to press into that monochrome pull for this sewing feature of the Portlander Pants by New Horizons Designs.

The Portlander Pants is a pant pattern that runs sizes xxs-3XL and is fitted up top and looser toward the bottom. I feel elegant, yet ready for the beach, in this style.

Creating a monochrome wardrobe (or at least a few staples) definitely has its perks. The neutral coordinating colors will be so easy to pair with other items in my closet. Plus, I’m absolutely, helplessly in love with this black+white jersey print from Love Adore .

The second version of the Portlander (same pattern, different look) that I created was shorts. I simply cut at my desired inseam and tried them on to adjust the length before hemming. For a looser fit, simply grade out in the legs (you can also angle outward); I chose to keep the sizing/fit as-is for a fitted style.

Portlander Shorts and Daphne Top 1

This was a fun way for me to use my black lace overlay material from Knitpop. Since I used a sheer stretch crochet lace material, I lined them with mauve double brushed poly (Pretty Posh Prints). The mauve was on the verge of being a bit too nude–but paired with the right top, I ended up loving it as a quick way to feel classy and comfy.

Portlander Shorts and Daphne Top 3

The off-the-shoulder top that I chose as an elegant accent to my Portlander Pants was the Mama Daphne top by Made for Mermaids. I used a solid black double brushed poly from Pretty Posh Prints. Many seamstresses grab the solids and then wonder what to do with them; using them to line lace garments (like under the shorts) and for elegant accent tops like the Daphne is perfect year-round.

Portlander Shorts and Daphne Top 7

You can find the PORTLANDER PANTS here at New Horizons Designs. If you sew up this pattern, be sure to share your creations in the New Horizons FB Group!

Portlander Collage

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

