Summer Wear: Maxi Dresses, Coachella Shorts, Pleated Dresses, and Sleep Sets

I’ve been slower to post than usual because I’ve been gearing up to showcase FOUR new styles that are hot on my summer wear list for 2017!

Let’s start off with that classic date-night, evening beach strolling dress: the maxi!

1. Pattern for Pirates Sunshine Dress

Sunshine Maxi 1 Sunshine Dress 4

The cross-over version of the maxi dress has been in my Pinterest inspiration catalogs, but I hadn’t found the right pattern until this year. With a strapless, halter, and cross-over tank options, the pattern allows you to create several dresses with different looks.

Aside being maxi length (on my “top-sew” list), the cross-over dress also has gathered sides and a a modest cross-over that is both flattering and functional.

I’m most looking forward to wearing this style:

  1. On date nights
  2. Evening strolls at the beach
  3. Anytime I want to feel a bit “fancy” and on our visits to India

Featured “Sunshine Dress” Pattern HERE / Featured brushed poly Fabric from “Pretty Posh Prints” HERE

2. Striped Swallow Designs’ Coachella Shorts + George & Ginger’s Edgy Tank

Edgy Top Coachella Shorts 1.jpg

If I’m not in dresses, I’m likely in skirts or shorts in the summer. Store-bought shorts, though, don’t compliment my body; they either have too short of an inseam for my 5’7.5” height, are too baggy in the crotch, or sit too low at the back. Needless to say, shorts were on my sewing list, and the Coachella Shorts pattern from Striped Swallow Designs was hands-down my fav.!

I paired it with the Edgy Top by George & Ginger and added cups to the top so that I wouldn’t need to wear a bra. (You can find the tutorial on how to add cups here.)

For the coachella shorts, I used a soft chambray with black pom trim The pom trim was through AliExpress. I’m not sure where I grabbed my chambray, but I’ve purchased soft chambray in the past from Phat Quarters, and I know that Punkin Head Threads has some too.

The pattern includes both loose and fitted styles with various inseams, and finding your fit is something you’ll want to think about before cutting. I sewed the looser style with a 4” inseam (for my height) with a mid rise. I measured XS but S in the waist, so I used the XS pattern and cut the elastic the length of the S (the waistband piece is large enough already).

For the Edgy Tank, I used CLUB line stripes from Raspberry Creek Fabrics. I love the quality of the CLUB line; it’s a cotton spandex with great weight, stretch, and recovery. The Edgy Tank is a very quick sew; I love the style (it could, of course, be “edgy” or even quite classy), and the pattern includes a flounce that can drape across the front for an additional look.

I’m most looking forward to wearing this style:

  1. During my daily summer routine
  2. To events like art + craft fairs
  3. On the beach (outfit as shown) and as swimwear (the tank, with swim fabric)

Find the Coachella Short Pattern HERE

Find the Edgy Tank Pattern HERE

3. Made for Mermaids Mama Joy

I’m definitely a dress wearer. If I had my choice, I’d wear a dress pretty much every day; after all, dresses are one piece (easy!), help me feel put-together, and are comfortable. There are so many styles of dresses, though, for every personality. One that speaks my language is the Mama Joy from Made for Mermaids.

Mama Joy Pleat Dress 1

I knew that the first version I’d sew of this dress would be in French Terry. This particular floral terry is from Love Adore Knits. It’s soft, and I wanted to combine comfort with class.

In the Mama Joy pattern, we create the pleats, baste them into place, combine the skirt and bodice, and then take out the baste stitches. The pleats should, then, begin up where the skirt and bodice meet. To create a slender/softer look, I stitched my pleat lines in (rather than basting) and left them in. The pleats begin lower, and I also like how they drape.

Mama Joy Pleat Dress 7

You can find the Mama Joy dress pattern HERE

I’m most looking forward to wearing this style:

  1. To church, the farmer’s market, and other local functions
  2. Summer family gatherings
  3. For work presentations (I sometimes travel and train instructors)

3. The Sew by Pattern Pieces Norma Jean Shorties + the Key West Crop Tank Sleep Set

Underwear has been on my to-sew list for years–but not just any underwear–WELL-fitted underwear. One of my favorite summer sleep sets came from two designers: the Norma Jean Shorties from Sew by Pattern Pieces (see discount code below) and the Key West Tank from New Horizons Designs.

Crop Top and Norma Shorties 4

Because these are sleep sets, I will just share one modeled pic, but wow–the fit could not be better. These don’t hug in the wrong spots and they don’t move around, sag, or fall down. I will be living in these sweet sets.

The Key West Tank by New Horizons comes in a slim or swing style; I chose the cropped version of the swing style to pair with my shorties.

Crop Top and Norma Shorties 7

For a 10% discount on the Norma Jean shorties for my blog readers, use code SBPPAffiliate001 on the Sew by Pattern Pieces Etsy website HERE

Also, join the New Horizons Facebook group to get a code on the Key West tank. You can then add the tank to your cart at New Horizon HERE and it will be FREE.

The floral French terry fabric (very soft) is from Knitpop.

I’m most looking forward to wearing this style:

  1. To sleep during warm summer months (set as shown)
  2. Around the house (crop top)
  3. As swim bottoms (bottoms, with swim fabric)

 

I hope you’ve found a few styles to inspire your summer wardrobe! Happy sewing!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

