Versatility of the Sazerac Shift Dress: Boho Dress, Nightie, and Swimsuit Coverup

Shift dresses have increased in popularity within the last few years as part of the beautiful Boho trend. I adore Boho, yet I try to avoid the “frumpy” look. The Sazerac Shift Dress by Seamingly Smitten was my perfect option for both a chambray/fringe boho style I wanted for winter and a sheer chiffon nightie I wanted for Valentine’s Day. The versatility of the pattern definitely has put this pattern on the must-keep radar for me.

Features

There are a few key elements I love about the shift dress. #1. We can use wovens! We knit lovers have wovens in our stash but rarely use them; this is a great opportunity! #2. It has a clean neckline (and easy! …just fold down and stitch). #3. The pattern includes optional cuffs. To me, this just pulls the dress together. I like the free-flowing sleeve option; but when it comes down to it, I’m more of a structured gal 🙂

shift-dress-5

Versatility

How neat is it that I can use the same pattern for a dress and a nightie…and let’s be honest…a swimsuit cover-up? You get my vote!

Now…let’s talk about the two main styles I made. The first is a woven chambray with graphite fringe trim. I truly adore this look for winter.

The width of the dress is pretty large, even for the “xs” size, so if you like a more fitted look (like below), you’ll want to take in the sides 1-2” (on each side). It’s an easy adjustment and allows you to have both the larger shift and slender shift options.

shift-dress-6

Now…the nightie! I chose sheer chiffon from Pretty Posh Prints for a modest yet sexy Valentine’s nightie.

nightie-shift-dress-9

I took the sides in 1” but didn’t have to alter the shift pattern in any other way. And because I tire of nighties pretty quickly, this will definitely become a swimsuit cover-up by summer! Mamas always have a plan 🙂

I just love the mint and polka dots. It makes my heart happy.

nightie-shift-dress-5

Happy Valentine’s Day to all of my sewing friends!! Make something that allows you to feel gorgeous…because love begins with loving you.

nightie-shift-dress-6

PATTERN LINK: Seamingly Smitten’s Sazerac Shift Dress

FABRIC LINK: Pretty Posh Prints

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

